Same World, New Beginnings

[Blogged by Jeremy Grayson]

Hey, everyone!

It’s my honor to address you from this lofty new position. If you’ve read Mike’s recent post, you know that Critically Touched has undergone a dramatic change – not just in look, but in leadership.

First things first. I must extend my heartiest thanks to Mike for the twelve years of work he’s put into building this website. He gave me my first online writing opportunity back when I was just an unassuming teenager, and has allowed me to grow and flourish as a writer, critic, and pop-culture enthusiast in these last five years. I wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors, and hope he continues to maintain his presence here whenever possible.

Now, you’re all probably wondering what else has changed. Well, fundamentally, things at Critically Touched will run as they have before. TV and film reviews, as well as Blog posts, will continue to appear on a regular basis. All our other writers (Jay, Noah, and the inimitable Guttersnipe) have made the jump to this new site. In the coming weeks, I will return to posting West Wing reviews, and will from time to time throw in a few film reviews/Blog thinkpieces for good measure.

This process may be touch-and-go for the first few weeks, as we try to get acclimated to the new site structure. (As well as the new forum, which will be up and running within a week or two.) And I know that, even though the content will remain relatively unchanged, the structural alterations to the site can seem a little jarring. But rest assured, I will do everything in my power to keep Critically Touched alive and well, and only suffer the occasional nervous breakdown in the process.

As time goes on, I hope that this site will continue to thrive, with fresh creative voices and perspectives. The new site structure, in many ways, allows for even more formatting flexibility than the previous one, and once we’re settled in, it is my hope to take full advantage of that.

So there you have it. I hope this change marks the dawn of a new era for Critically Touched, one in which we can continue to thrive with deep and meaningful discussions – on television, on film, on the world at large. And I hope you’ll join the fun.

7 thoughts on “Same World, New Beginnings”

  1. OK, I’m following you now on Twitter, Jeremy. I don’t really follow that many people, because I’d find the feed too overwhelming to keep up with if I did. I don’t even follow most of my RL friends, because they post quite uninteresting things, much of the time. But I will follow you (I’m Clayton/ThirdMan333).

    Like

  2. I generally don’t post that often on Twitter, unless I get in a conversation with someone. Funny thing is, I’m following Conan ‘O Brien even though I rarely watch his show, because he (or perhaps whoever handles his Twitter feed) is very good at turning a clever phrase in 140 characters or less. I should be following Ryan Reynolds’ account as well, because he is often very funny.

    Like

  3. Yes, Jer, I started following you, too! I don’t know how useful that will turn out for you, since I write in Italian most of the time, but it will be fun to see how you’ll handle this.
    And, hey, funny thing: I had already read one of your tweets regarding the release date of “I Love Dick”, without even taking a look at the name and, therefore, not recognizing you. I mean, don’t you miss “Lost”, guys?!?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

