Buffy 1×11: Out of Mind, Out of Sight

[Review by Mike Marinaro]

[Writer: Joss Whedon, Ashley Gable, and Thomas A. Swyden | Director: Reza Badiyi | Aired: 05/19/1997]

Unlike “Nightmares” [1×10], “Out of Mind, Out of Sight” tells a coherent story. It’s not the deepest story you’ll ever see on Buffy, and it has a metaphor that is a little too transparent (pun intended) in places, but it largely succeeds at what it sets out to do and develops a character in the process. While it succeeds in offering up something worthwhile, it still struggles in terms of those ever important details such as pacing, subtlety, and depth. I was really digging this one until around the midway point, which is where it started losing steam. Speaking of details, how about I give you some to chew on?

What would happen to a person so ignored that they literally disappeared? It’s as if the collective indifference around them wished it to happen, and it did. “Out of Mind, Out of Sight” explores this concept and does a decent job at bringing in a couple characters, namely Cordelia and Buffy, along for the ride. A classroom scene early on sets up the events to come quite nicely. Cordelia offers a little rant about how “the outcasts of society” simply need to get over themselves, while Willow gives an obviously self-conscious rebuttal where she suggests that getting angry over being ignored and looked down on is justified. These two very different responses reflect back on Willow’s and Cordelia’s respective personalities, and what we will come to see from them when presented with obstacles in the future. One of Willow’s biggest character flaws is that she has horrible coping mechanisms for pain and loss. Although “Out of Mind, Out of Sight” doesn’t explore this any further, it is telling how much more Willow appears to relate to Marcie than to Cordelia.

Even more pressing about this classroom discussion is that it sets up the conversation of whether or not we will feel sorry for Marcie. If so, does that empathy extend to revenge on those that ignored her? How does anger and vengeance work out for Marcie, and what lesson does that offer to everyone else? The only problem I have with this whole setup is that the conclusion somewhat undercuts it by revealing that Marcie has gone completely bonkers, thereby nullifying some of these difficult questions and making it impossible to have much sympathy for her plight. A more nuanced Marcie would have gone a long way to lifting the episode out of mediocrity.

At least “Out of Mind, Out of Sight” leaves its mark on the characters. There’s an interesting scene where Xander and Willow share an inside joke with each other, leaving Buffy feeling out of the loop. Xander even unknowingly criticizes Buffy for having enjoyed school coronation events and dances in the past. I really appreciate the attention drawn to Buffy’s sense of loneliness and loss here. Marcie is another good warning for Buffy of what indulging in her justified loneliness can do. Like Amy’s mom in “Witch” [1×03], acting like a child outside of childhood can have devastating consequences. Sometimes life forces you to grow up fast; what you do with that situation can define you.

Each character responds to the isolation Marcie represents in a different way. Marcie, herself, tries to quell the feeling with vengeance, Cordelia by surrounding herself with other people so she feels popular and wanted, and Buffy by sacrificing her own desires to make a difference, even if those around her fail to notice it. Where Willow seems to relate to Marcie, it’s clear that Buffy relates more to Cordelia. After all, what is Buffy’s “family and friends,” as Spike will soon say, but a support network to keep away the loneliness inside? Buffy is far more giving than Cordelia though, which is exemplified when she smiles at seeing Cordelia getting all dolled up for the coronation. It says great things about Buffy that she’s capable of showing such happiness for someone getting that which she so badly wants, yet can no longer have.

One great joy of “Out of Mind, Out of Sight” is that Cordelia is finally given some much needed depth. After Buffy pokes fun at her superficiality, Cordelia drops her defensiveness for a moment and says, “I can be surrounded by people and be completely alone. It’s not like any of them really know me. I don’t even know if they like me half the time. People just want to be in a popular zone. Sometimes when I talk, everyone’s so busy agreeing with me, they don’t hear a word I say.” At the end of the episode, Cordelia even genuinely thanks Buffy and the gang for their help, which proves that Cordelia can be self-aware and capable of showing gratitude. This is the perfect grace note for what turns out to be the first step towards a better — yet always tumultuous — relationship between Cordelia and the Scoobies, and is clearly a creative breakthrough for the writing staff in how they will treat the character going forward.

Not to get lost in the action, Angel pays Giles a visit and gets a moment of reflection (easy pun #2!) of his own, informing Giles that having no reflection is an overrated pleasure. This hints at the fact that despite his romantic aura, he’s actually a pretty lonely creature that feels perpetually damned. It was great to see Angel and Giles have a moment to bond a little, particularly in light of events to come. Oh resonance, how I love thee.

While the first half of “Out of Mind, Out of Sight” does a pretty nice job at using its plot to draw parallels to the characters, things begin to slide downhill soon afterward. With the exception of a scene or two, the last half of the episode is drearily paced, repetitive, and fairly boring. It’s actually quite a shame, because it’s like Whedon came up with a great concept, but the actual script comes up short in giving it justice. The writers didn’t quite seem able to add in that extra layer of emotion, depth, and complexity.

Marcie’s plight is certainly somewhat fascinating, but it’s just not very emotionally stimulating. This all comes back to wanting Marcie’s motivations to be fleshed out a bit beyond ‘I was ignored, woe me, psycho time!‘ The episode just writes her off as a lunatic who gets wisped away by a couple convenient FBI guys in an overly goofy conclusion. This is all a bit of a shame, because it almost comes together for me.

I’ve got notable qualms with “Out of Mind, Out of Sight,” but it definitely does enough right in terms of theme and character to be a worthwhile effort. I really loved seeing Cordelia actually become a real character (rather than a walking, talking cliché), and taking that first step toward integrating with the Scoobies. I also appreciated how Marcie’s situation is, at least early on, used as a point of reflection for Buffy, Willow, and Cordelia. In light of this, we end up with one of Season 1’s better outings.


Minor Pros/Cons (+/-)

+ I like how Cordelia, while very superficial, is not also a complete idiot (thanks to this episode, of course). She shows concern for how she does in school, and appears to be decently read.
+ Xander’s quip about protecting the girls’ locker room if he had the power of invisibility reminds me of the Trio in “Gone” [6×11].
+ Willow rocking the Scooby Doo shirt. Scoobies indeed.

– The hand-raising scene is a little overwrought. I get the point, but it is too unrealistic – what with all the other students conveniently raising their hands — to work as intended.


[Score]

76/100

36 thoughts on “Buffy 1×11: Out of Mind, Out of Sight”

  1. [Note: Tranquillity posted this comment on April 22, 2007.]

    The ‘Men in Black’ and the ending (with the invisible class learning about espionage) foreshadows the idea that the government know of things supernatural so lays the ground work for the Initative in season 4 and the army activity in season 8.

    Like

  2. [Note: Xenophon posted this comment on August 2, 2007.]

    I don’t know if I’m having a blonde moment, but when i watched this episode last night I think I saw the following. When Buffy comes free from her chair she goes over to release Cordelia, however she does not finish this because of being attacked again. Just before she is attacked however, you see the rope around Cordelia’s left arm being loose (I still wondered why doesn’t she just pull her hand out?) then when the big fight is over the ropes are tight again. Anybody else pick this up?

    Like

  3. [Note: buffyholic posted this comment on October 5, 2007.]

    I can relate to Marci, so I like this plot alot. The scene where she disappears in class amazes me everytime. She just wanted some friends but nobody noticed her, nobody cared. I also like the insight on Cordelia. She´s still very selfish but we see that she´s more than the usual shallow girl. I liked her speech on being lonely. It´s amazing how the characters change in a few episodes.

    Like

  4. [Note: Bill posted this comment on February 9, 2008.]

    The FBI ending really, really annoyed me. I am willing to suspend my disbelief to no end, but I can not for a second buy that ending. There is no way that the FBI would waltz in, extricate the invisible girl, have two other students clearly in sight, have one of those students acknowledge that she knows what is going on, and then just leave those two students be. That just wouldn’t happen, no matter what, and is incredibly stupid. In the real world and in fantasy, Buffy and Cordy would both either be dead or quickly moved somewhere where they could eb controlled. For all his strengths, this, and the Initiative just show that Whedon and company have no idea about how to write the military or the national government in the Buffyverse.

    Like

  5. [Note: Tony posted this comment on April 14, 2008.]

    Greatest line ever.

    Giles: You know Cordelia, I believe I never seen you here in the library before.
    Cordelia: Oh no.. I have a life.

    Like

  6. [Note: AnonDK posted this comment on September 2, 2009.]

    I just watched the episode, there.

    Besides it being a rather excellent insight on Cordelia, and having Buffy relate to her, it’s not all that great.

    Marcie goes from kind of sympathetic to REALLY unsympathetic really quickly (also I kept wanting to tell her ‘WHY is she trying to get along with the popular kids?’). I do feel for her plight, she just takes it way too far. Also the FBI coming in and sweeping everything under the rug was both anti-climactic and dumb (as mentioned above, Whedon and co. have no grasp on the government or how they function).

    Despite this, it is one of the better written episodes of the series. Cordelia is just a highlight, and this really starts her on her most excellent development in the series. The foreshadowing to Prophecy Girl was well handled and fun to see Angel interact with someone outside of Buffy (and not the last time), and while it’s pretty slow, it’s not as painfully bad as other season 1 episodes, so it passes (really, most season 1 eps are slow because they have no plot to speak of).

    I really love your reviews, Mike-they’re spot on and really insightful.

    Like

  7. [Note: Sunburn posted this comment on September 12, 2009.]

    Re Bill’s comment about the unconvincing FBI scenes:

    It’s one of the things I like best about Buffy that it mostly ignores and occasionally mocks the US military-industrial complex. There are thousands of shows, both fictional and supposedly factual (Fox News, anyone?) where you can go and see a collective wank over guns and spies and special agents and Full Spectrum Dominance and all the other boys’ toys and wet dreams. There are a million blogs slavering over weapons and procedure and all that ultra-macho muscle-flexing. Thank god at least one show doesn’t take it so seriously.

    I can understand that it’s annoying when you know about something and it’s not properly represented, but for me, the light-hearted, tongue-in-cheek way the Buffyverse deals with the tedious dominance of power and might in real life make it even more of a joy to watch.

    (None of the above was intended as rudeness towards Bill, by the way! Just MHO about the true need for accurate representation of government matters.)

    Like

  8. [Note: Izzy posted this comment on January 29, 2010.]

    What I don’t get is that if the FBI was watching wouldn’t they have noticed Buffy also. The invisible girl would be great but how about a young girl with the powers that Buffy had. The government would be crazy not to want to take her in for testing and to control her. She would make the perfect soldier, or at least what they would want to have in them.

    Like

  9. [Note: Spinach posted this comment on February 10, 2010.]

    I always hated the FBI bit at the end. When I first saw it I was expecting Marci to become visible during the fight because people were paying attention to her at last – and therefore she would lose her element of surprise attack over Buffy. I would’ve preferred that as an ending better…

    Like

  10. [Note: Guido posted this comment on February 10, 2010.]

    @Spinach, yes, that would have been a much more logical ending. It’s interesting to witness Joss’ wheels spinning in all the hits and misses of this season. Maybe this was a glimpse into his thinking on The Initiative. However, I was as disappointed with that season-long plot distraction as I was with this FBI ending.

    Like

  11. [Note: John Roberts posted this comment on September 10, 2010.]

    Good: Once again, the show manages to take on teen angst without reminding me of an afterschool special. Not easy, my friends. Also, Cordelia is developed in a way that prepares her to be a future Scooby, that is her character is taken in a radically different direction, and yet somehow I believed it.

    Bad: An unmemorable episode of hunt-the-boring baddie. It’s only been a week, and I pretty much forgot everything about the show except the premise, Cordelia, and the FBI at the end. The show was catching its collective breath before The Prophecy, I guess.

    Huh?: The X-Files FBI guys. Pure cheese, seemed to belong in another series altogether, but it did make me smile so I won’t call it bad. More like, a temporary lapse in taste.

    Like

  12. [Note: dr. horrible posted this comment on September 12, 2010.]

    Am I the only person in the who actually liked this episode? Maybe I’m putting too much weight on the metaphor. (Hearing someone talk about that concept was one of the first things that made me curious about Buffy.) I also loved the Cordelia developement. The ending was cheesy but it was kind of creepy in a goofy way.

    Like

  13. [Note: MikeJer posted this comment on December 10, 2010.]

    ADMIN NOTE: This episode review has been completely rewritten. In light of this, references to the old review have been edited out of the the above comments.

    Like

  14. [Note: buffyholic posted this comment on December 10, 2010.]

    Again, nice job and if I´m not mistaken, this episode has a better grade that it did before.

    I like this episode very much because I can relate to it. While I was in school, I was somewhat bullied by others. Of course I didn´t turn into a killer like Marcie but I hid myself in books and movies. I started walking by myself because almost everyone was a jerk. I am still a bit lonely, but I kind of like it.

    Great development for Cordelia and Buffy too.

    Like

  15. [Note: Paula posted this comment on December 10, 2010.]

    Bullying is a good theme that doesn’t get such great treatment in this episode… OoMOoS is not a total miss, but Marcie turning out to be a lunatic in the end was, while fairly unexpected, ultimately just uninteresting.

    I was bullied pretty horribly through several years at school by girls very much like Cordelia, and I’m not likely to ever forget it or forgive certain people, much as I’d like to (not that I want to take revenge on them either; I just don’t want to ever see them or talk to them again). Which I guess is the main reason why I cannot tolerate Cordelia at all and just don’t care how lonely and misunderstood she may feel. IMO there’s no justification for being such a cruel bitch, and acting like one makes you one.

    Like

  16. [Note: G1000 posted this comment on December 10, 2010.]

    I am on the record in stating that this is, without question, my least favorite episode of “Buffy” ever. I just found the whole metaphorical “girl disappearing” storyline to be so insufferable. Not to mention that Cordelia getting in trouble is a plot device that’s used way too much.

    Like

  17. [Note: Nathan.Taurus posted this comment on December 10, 2010.]

    Good:

    -Snyder saying there are no dead students…..this week.

    -Cordelia telling it from the heart was a nice scene.

    -Buffy telling Cordelia to shut up.

    -Buffy jabbing Xander in the ribs and him staring down at her for mocking Cordy.

    -A scene popping up in Season 7.

    Bad:

    -Clea Duvall(Marcie)just doesn’t do the part as well as could be done.

    -Just not an interesting episode. Good point to it, just not as good(IMO) as ‘Nightmares’.

    Like

  18. [Note: MrB posted this comment on December 11, 2010.]

    “It’s actually quite a shame, because it’s like Whedon had this great concept for an episode but the actual script just came up short. The writers didn’t quite seem able to add in that extra layer of pathos, emotion, and depth.”

    This episode was brought to you by the same people as I Robot You Jane – Ashley Gable and Thomas A. Swyden. Yikes, no wonder it ran off the rails. Thankfully, this was their last outing on BtVS.

    Like

  19. [Note: Jermzy posted this comment on December 19, 2010.]

    Maybe I’m just an attention whore but if everyone ignored me until I disappeared I think I would pretty much go insane, no forgiveness. Marcie being a more or less one note character is quite understandable on account of the incredible badness of what happens to her. It also gives Buffy the opportunity to call her a “thundering loony” which never fails to bring me joy XD

    I think I could call this my favourite episode of Season 1 because it manages to devolve a complex argument of justice and revenge into a fistfight with an invisible girl- we all know which is more fun to watch.

    Like

  20. [Note: CoyoteBuffyFan posted this comment on February 5, 2011.]

    I liked this episode but it wasn’t one of my favorites from S1. I like the theme of people being what society makes them, at least outwardly and that we all need to look beyond the surface. Marcy was a nobody in the eyes of the world and she, literally, became a nobody. Cordelia on the outside is just what society thinks but on the inside there is a lot more going on.

    There is growth for Cordelia and I love where they go with her for the next few seasons. She has great character development through this series and the first part of Angel (don’t get me started on what they ultimately do to her on there though).

    Like

  21. [Note: Conor posted this comment on March 1, 2011.]

    The episode had some good scenes, such as Giles and Angel’s bonding as you mentioned, and did a great job at transforming Cordelia into an actual flesh-and-blood character, but it was also fairly hokey (admittedly, a not uncommon occurence in this otherwise exemplary series) and the ending was just too far-fetched to swallow. All in all, a reasonably good episode, but “Nightmares” was definitely better.

    Like

  22. [Note: Lead posted this comment on June 11, 2011.]

    For a laugh, if you own the DVDs, pause on the scene where Marcie opens the book in the classroom with invisible children at the end. The actual text is just kind of… well… nutty and nonsensical. It did yield this gem, however: “When I hold you in my arms and feel my finger on your trigger, I know no one can do me no harm because Joy is a hot revolver.” Haha!

    Like

  23. [Note: Gemma posted this comment on December 12, 2011.]

    Let me start by saying that the final episode of inaugural season does so well be abandoning the Buffy episode structure but this episode succeeds so well because it follows the Buffy blue print.

    The metaphor of isolation that teens and many individuals face and feel is made literal through the eyes of Marcie Ross, a girl who filling the perfect example of a wall flower simply disappeared because of her own feelings of loneliness. This emotion and feeling of being alone is explored throughout the course of this episode in three ways; Marcie’s blatant disappearing, Cordelia surrounding herself with people because its better than being alone all by yourself and finally Buffy, missing her old life pre-slayer and feeling isolated from the normal things in life. The opening scene establishes Buffy’s feelings when she runs from the library and crashes into Cordelia, her explanation and long look at Cordelia’s back when she leaves resonates with the viewer and we understand Buffy’s feeling of loss, she will no longer be May queen again like back in LA. Cordelia’s quip regarding outcast’s and that they should merely get over it sets the theme for this episode, a nice little foreshadowing scene for this episode itself. Kudos!

    The message in this episode is one that BtVS has done superbly, the very idea and concept of disappearing, to feel so alone is heartbreaking. The addition of the science fiction element deepens what these feelings are.

    The episode is hard hitting, not played out for laughs.The flash back scenes showing Marcie’s life does well to convey her feelings at the time and the nest above the music room establishes her state of mind currently.

    The concept of an invisible killer was well though off, humans rely on sight to protect themselves as do many living creatures. The fear and suspense that the characters experienced was the more believable because of this dependence, the gang could be being watched at any time- extremely creepy.

    When the slayerettes determine that Marcie isn’t necessary evil and that what happened to her is a result of what others have done to her was a touching moment and it felt authentic when the group realised they too had played a part in it.

    This episode sets up Cordelia’s entry into the scooby gang for season two nicely with her going to Buffy for help. We still have same old Cordy though; her vanity when she runs into the library and proclaims its me, me me me! Her character receives some great character development, we get an insight into her most inner thoughts and personality. This episode does well with regards to humanising her and it throw us an insight into Buffy’s life (as discussed above)

    The idea of the FBI was a little bit contrived for me but there is a moment of foreshadowing here; the idea that the government is aware of the supernatural sets up season four very well.

    Like

  24. [Note: fray-adjacent posted this comment on December 13, 2011.]

    Early in the episode, Cordelia tells her teacher, “I’m real unfocused. I have all these points, and I’m pretty sure they all contradict each other.” I think this could read as forshadowing her development in S2 and S3, and maybe S1 of Angel. She faces this constant tension between doing good and fulfilling her desires for fun and popularity, between her attraction to Xander and her wish to stay cool, date rich guys etc.

    Like

  25. [Note: nitramneek posted this comment on January 7, 2012.]

    I don’t know if you’re aware of this or not, but the actress who plays Marci Ross, Clea Duvall, also worked with SMG in the movie The Grudge. I fully related to the theme in this episode for in high school I was shy and introverted and also picked on by the occasional bully. I’ll admit to entertaining revenge, but not to the extreme Marcie Ross goes through in this episode. I’m not condoning her actions but I do relate to where she’s coming from. I like your observation Gemma (#27) the use of metaphor to explore Cordelia’s sense of loneliness and Buffy’s isolation (being the slayer means you’re always alone). Marcie’s invisibility leading to her slow and painful descent into insanity has been featured, as you probably know, in many films, most notably The Invisible Man (1933), staring Claude Rains and most recently, Hollow Man (2000), staring (he really needs to call me HAHA) Kevin Bacon. Happy new year Mike and to the other people who post on your site, or at least until Dec.21st when yet another apocalypse is looming (please beep me when it happens though, will you?)

    Like

  26. [Note: Rob W posted this comment on March 4, 2012.]

    I relate to the comment above about the series taking a “collective breath” here, as it brings to a close the run of fluffier episodes that follow “Angel”. As I’ve said in earlier episode comments, I do love coming back to the first season, but after the first few episodes it’s hard to keep my motivation going. The relationships among the characters are what it’s all about for me and they haven’t deepened all that much by this point.

    Also I think “Kendall Hart” during S1. On to better and deeper things…

    Like

  27. [Note: Seele posted this comment on January 17, 2013.]

    I just realized another contrast between Sunnydale Cordy and LA Cordy’s, specifically her “social circles”:Invisible ghost (Phantom Dennis): one of Cordy’s closest friends; listens to her even though he can’t talk to her in returnInvisible person (Marcie): tries to kill herVisible ghost (Dennis’s psycho mommy): tries to kill herVisible people (Harmony…): allegedly Cordy’s friends, but they just talk at her without listening in return

    Like

  28. [Note: Monica posted this comment on August 24, 2013.]

    I feel like I’m on the unpopular side here where I actually believe this was underscored.

    Although somewhat heavy-handed I actually adore the plot of this episode and it’s execution. I think it of highest quality out of the season one standalones, and I also enjoy the insanity Marcie was driven to. It completely turns the tables and has you sympathize for the bitch and root against the “victim.” However, like someone mentioned before (Paula), this episode can definitely evoke emotions that skew an opinion. I actually was more a vain, sarcastic girl when I was in high school and I really identify with Cordelia here (and throughout the rest of Buffy and AtS) because I completely understand what she means in her very important conversation with Buffy about loneliness.

    Speaking of, I absolutely love the layers of loneliness dealt with here, and I feel like that type of depth in the episode is something the first season lacks. Instead of having a straight message about literal loneliness (like “Witch” was one representation of a parent controlling your life), this episode shows the many sides of being alone and it’s effect on, well, high school.

    I don’t know if it’s because of the way I organize my thoughts here but I always feel like I’m not making sense. Am I? Does anybody get what I’m saying? Haha

    Like

  29. [Note: Jewel posted this comment on September 14, 2015.]

    I’m not that crazy about this one. For me, it falls around the ranks of ‘The Pack’ — not terrible, just not great. This is why:

    1) Cordelia. I know I’m supposed to be pleased with the insight into this character, but for me, it had the opposite effect. Up to now, Cordelia has been the snotty, selfish, rich, popular girl who plays a minor antagonist to Buffy and the gang, and it’s been enjoyable because it was played up mainly as comic relief. The way that this episode tries to get you to sympathize with Cordelia just by having her state that she’s lonely is all in vain, at least for me. It still all feels very superficial and utterly fails to make me see her side at all. It just made me resentful.

    2) Painting Marcie as the villain. So, yeah, bullied kids occasionally get pushed so far by their classmates and do lose it sometimes, to the point where they’ll take deadly revenge on the ones who have tormented them. Of course they’re in the wrong, but isn’t there something more to be said about the actions that drive them to that point in the first place? I do appreciate how Willow felt remorse for her part in Marcie’s plight, but then that all gets turned around with Buffy calling her a “thundering looney,” as if Marcie was nuts before everyone ignored her and that she somehow deserved it because of that.

    The only points I can give this episode is how, in retrospect, we can how much Cordelia develops, eventually. And this is at least the starting point for her trust in the Scoobies. Still, she never has a proper arc until AtS. Then the best part — more insight into Buffy, both the person she is, the person she was, and the nature of the slayer as it pertains to her personally.

    Now I don’t have time to proofread this, so I hope it all made sense.

    Like

  30. [Note: Random posted this comment on January 26, 2017.]

    I’m not sure I see the depth given to either Cordelia or Willow. For the most part, Cordelia demonstrates absolutely no awareness other than selfishness. Does anyone actually think her ‘insight’ into Shylock is anything other than nasty and shallow? Her response discussion of Shylock reinforced the cliche of her character pretty damned well. Her personal example was simply ludicrous, and I doubt most people in the real world would find any sympathy for her cry for validation in the fact that she was upset at having run over a person on a bike and felt that the victim was being too whiny. And her “alone in a crowd” observation is one of those insights that seem superficially profound but is ultimately facile. It’s also a cliche, and a pretty old one at that. Yes, it’s possible to be so intent on the pursuit of popularity that you can’t form substantial friendships, but everything Cordelia does and says implies that her shallowness is an actual character trait, not a reflection of some oppressive social dynamic (I mean, really, she actually whines about how Mitch will look in their prom pictures and there’s really no reason why she would feel obligated to do so. Harmony certainly wasn’t demanding that sort of response when she asked how Mitch was.) Honestly, I left this episode with exactly the same amount of insight into Cordelia’s ‘depth’ as I had entering it. At most, Cordelia is fleshed out a tiny bit, but that’s not the same thing as her being given depth.

    And I think you’re reading too much into Willow’s response. Her observation about Shylock’s status in Venetian society was, well, a pretty accurate summation of how the play presents him. She didn’t seem to so much identify with him as to have a good grasp of English literature.

    Like

Leave a Reply

